dr. Luc Belmans – CEO

Luc is a doctor by education and has additional Master in the processing of health data but followed also many additional courses within computer science. He is the founder and the driving force of MEDAMAN. With many years of experience as Medical Director in several Hospitals and Doctor in charge of Hospital Data and based on the conviction that insufficient action is actually being taken with the large mountain of data on which each hospital has, Luc was prompted to found his company and brainchild Medaman in 2019. He assisted many hospitals with advice on hospital financing. He also likes to teach about ICD 10 coding and processing of medical data. Medaman became also recently certified SME (Small and Medium-sized Enterprise) for EHDEN (European Health Data Evidence Network), the European data network that aims to gain better insights into Real World data by collecting large amounts of observational data in order to obtain better outcomes for patients. The task of an SME is to check the large amount of data that the data partners provide for the required quality and to convert it into the OMOP-CDM model (Observational Medical Outcomes Partnership Common Data model), a kind of universal code language, in which local codes such as ICD 9, ICD 10, … are converted. This is to optimize the uniformity and comparability of data.

Prof. dr. dr. Manu Malbrain – Chief Medical Officer

Manu qualified as MD from the Catholic University of Leuven, Belgium in 1991 (greatest distinction). He was Medial Director (CMO) of the Jan Palfijn Hospital in Ghent, Belgium until February 2022 when he joined MEDAMAN. In the past, he has been Director of the Intensive Care Units (ICU) in different Belgian hospitals (Ste-Anne St-Remi in Anderlecht, Europa Hospitals site Ste-Elisabeth in Uccle, Hospital Network Antwerp ZNA Stuivenberg and St-Erasmus in Antwerp where he was also responsible for the High Care Burn Unit and a hyperbaric oxygen chamber and the University Hospital Brussels (UZB) in Jette). He was medical director of the ZNA Stuivenberg and St-Erasmus hospitals between 2013-2017. He is a critical care physician (1997) with a basic training in internal medicine (1996) and he is actively involved in the European Society of Intensive Care Medicine (ESICM) and the European Society of Anesthesiology and Intensive Care (ESAIC) as member of the Scientific Subcommittee. He studied the effects of raised intra-abdominal pressure (IAP) in general ICU patients for the last 30 years. He is the founding President and actual Treasurer of the Abdominal Compartment Society (formerly known as World Society on Abdominal Compartment Syndrome, WSACS, www.wsacs.org) and he co-chaired the previous 9 bi-annual WCACS meetings since 2004. He is co-founder of the International Fluid Academy (www.fluidacademy.org) and co-chaired the first 10 iFAD meetings since 2011. Besides IAP, sepsis and fluid management, his favorite topic is less invasive (hemodynamic) monitoring and he enjoys (bedside ) teaching, training and education. In 2003 he was the first ESICM Chris Stoutenbeek Award winner in Amsterdam with a study protocol on different IAP measurement methods and he successfully defended his PhD doctorate's thesis in 2007 on the same topic (KU Leuven). Over the years, he gave more than 1000 lectures at (inter)national scientific meetings. He is the author and co-author of more than 330 peer-reviewed articles, reviews, editorials, book chapters and two complete books on abdominal compartment syndrome (ACS), one of which has been translated into Spanish. His cumulative h-index is 54 on Scopus and 72 on GoogleScholar (with a total of 24856 citations). He was Professor at the Faculty of Medicine and Pharmacology at Vrije Universiteit Brussel (VUB) between 2017-2020 and currently he is Professor of Critical Care Research at the First Department of Anaesthesiology and Intensive Therapy of the Medical University of Lublin in Poland.

dr. Dries Tant – Chief Innovation Officer

Dries is an emergency physician by education with an additional Master's degree in Health Care Policy and Health Economics. Currently still active in the clinical world as an emergency physician, doctor geriatrics and palliative doctor but also as a tropical doctor in Rwanda and Congo. His interest and knowledge about Hospital Data , Real World Evidence Data, Python, Power Bi help him enormously in his activities with MEDMAN. In the preparation of ICD-10 courses of the non-profit association and learning platform “The Institute” from Bruges, Belgium, he ran into Luc Belmans who made him enthusiastic about the projects of MEDAMAN. 

Geert Byttebier – Medical Data Analyst

Geert is an engineer and medical statistician by training with a heart for statistics and figures. In a previous life Geert built up an immense network by applying his knowledge within various pharma companies such as Janssen Pharmaceutica. Within the academic world, this gentleman mastering figures is a welcome guest because of his correct approach. He currently maintains close contacts with universities and researchers all over the world for Medaman and with his professional knowledge he supervises many publications, including recent publications on the use of statins and ACE inhibitors / sartans for the survival of Covid patients. He is also a welcome guest within OHDI (Observational Health Data Sciences and Informatics) or the global version of EHDEN.

Marc Lamont- Business Development Officer

Marc has a Master in Medical and Pharmaceutical Sciences and an additional Master of Business Administration from the North Western University Chicago in collaboration with the Flanders Business School, Antwerp, Belgium. He had a long Global Business career in senior executive roles with some very well-known Healthcare companies like Baxter Healthcare, Boston Scientific and Canon Medical but built also the global business for some smaller companies and start-ups like Eurogentec (genomics and proteomics) , Clintec (Baxter – Nestlé joint venture), Nexell (Stem Cell Therapies) and icometrix (Digital Healthcare AI). Marc was responsible for building many new business activities worldwide with those companies, both under the umbrella of large well-known companies as with smaller start-up and scale-up companies. During his career he worked in more than 65 countries worldwide, making business successful under very different conditions and cultural differences. He is also the author of several management books about building new businesses like the book “Growing Start-Up and Scale-Up Activities into a Successful Business”. Marc is also a mentor with IMEC: IMEC is a world-renowned research center for nanoelectronics and digital technology. At the same time, it is a Flemish organization that maintains strong ties with local actors to accelerate digital transformation. Marc is also a mentor with imec.istart: since 2011 imec.istart is one of Europe's first startup accelerators.

dr. Luc Belmans – PDG

Luc est médecin de formation et possède un Master complémentaire en traitement des données de santé mais a également suivi de nombreux cours complémentaires en informatique. Il est le fondateur et le moteur de MEDAMAN. Fort de plusieurs années d'expérience en tant que Directeur Médical dans plusieurs Hôpitaux et Médecin Responsable des Données Hospitalières et fort de la conviction que l'on n'agit pas vraiment suffisamment sur la montagne de données dont dispose chaque hôpital, Luc a été amené à fonder sa société et idée originale de Medaman en 2019. Il a aidé de nombreux hôpitaux avec des conseils sur le financement des hôpitaux. Il aime aussi enseigner le codage CIM 10 et le traitement des données médicales. Medaman est également devenu récemment certifié PME (Small and Medium-sized Enterprise) pour EHDEN (European Health Data Evidence Network), le réseau de données européen qui vise à mieux comprendre les données du monde réel en collectant de grandes quantités de données d'observation afin d'obtenir une meilleure résultats pour les patients. La tâche d'une PME est de vérifier la grande quantité de données que les partenaires de données fournissent pour la qualité requise et de la convertir dans le modèle OMOP-CDM (Observational Medical Outcomes Partnership Common Data model), une sorte de langage de code universel, en quels codes locaux tels que ICD 9, ICD 10, … sont convertis. Il s'agit d'optimiser l'uniformité et la comparabilité des données.

Prof. Dr. dr. Manu Malbrain – Directeur Médical

Manu est diplômé en médecine de l'Université catholique de Louvain, Belgique en 1991 (plus grande distinction). Il a été directeur médical (CMO) de l'hôpital Jan Palfijn de Gand, en Belgique, jusqu'en février 2022, date à laquelle il a rejoint MEDAMAN. Dans le passé, il a été directeur des unités de soins intensifs (USI) dans différents hôpitaux belges (Ste-Anne St-Remi à Anderlecht, Europa Hospitals site Ste-Elisabeth à Uccle, Hospital Network Antwerp ZNA Stuivenberg et St-Erasmus à Anvers où il était également responsable de l'unité de soins intensifs pour brûlés et d'une chambre à oxygène hyperbare et de l'hôpital universitaire de Bruxelles (UZB) à Jette). Il a été directeur médical des hôpitaux ZNA Stuivenberg et St-Erasmus entre 2013-2017. Il est médecin de soins intensifs (1997) avec une formation de base en médecine interne (1996) et il est activement impliqué dans la Société européenne de médecine de soins intensifs (ESICM) et la Société européenne d'anesthésiologie et de soins intensifs (ESAIC) en tant que membre de le sous-comité scientifique. Il a étudié les effets de l'augmentation de la pression intra-abdominale (PAI) chez les patients en soins intensifs généraux au cours des 30 dernières années. Il est le président fondateur et l'actuel trésorier de la Abdominal Compartment Society (anciennement connue sous le nom de World Society on Abdominal Compartment Syndrome, WSACS, www.wsacs.org) et il a coprésidé les 9 réunions biannuelles précédentes de la WCACS depuis 2004. Il est co-fondateur de l'International Fluid Academy (www.fluidacademy.org) et co-président des 10 premières réunions iFAD depuis 2011. Outre l'IAP, la septicémie et la gestion des fluides, son sujet de prédilection est la surveillance moins invasive (hémodynamique) et il aime (chevet ) enseignement, formation et éducation. En 2003, il a été le premier lauréat du prix ESICM Chris Stoutenbeek à Amsterdam avec un protocole d'étude sur différentes méthodes de mesure IAP et il a soutenu avec succès sa thèse de doctorat en 2007 sur le même sujet (KU Leuven). Au fil des ans, il a donné plus de 1000 conférences lors de réunions scientifiques (inter)nationales. Il est l'auteur et le co-auteur de plus de 330 articles évalués par des pairs, critiques, éditoriaux, chapitres de livres et de deux livres complets sur le syndrome du compartiment abdominal (SCA), dont l'un a été traduit en espagnol. Son h-index cumulatif est de 54 sur Scopus et de 72 sur GoogleScholar (avec un total de 24856 citations). Il a été professeur à la faculté de médecine et de pharmacologie de la Vrije Universiteit Brussel (VUB) entre 2017 et 2020 et il est actuellement professeur de recherche en soins intensifs au premier département d'anesthésiologie et de thérapie intensive de l'université médicale de Lublin en Pologne.

dr. Dries Tant – Directeur de l'innovation

Dries est médecin urgentiste de formation avec une maîtrise supplémentaire en politique des soins de santé et en économie de la santé. Actuellement toujours actif dans le monde clinique en tant que médecin urgentiste, médecin gériatre et médecin palliatif mais aussi en tant que médecin tropical au Rwanda et au Congo. Son intérêt et ses connaissances sur les données hospitalières, les données de preuves du monde réel, Python, Power Bi l'aident énormément dans ses activités avec MEDMAN. Lors de la préparation des cours ICD-10 de l'association à but non lucratif et plateforme d'apprentissage "The Institute" de Bruges, Belgique, il a rencontré Luc Belmans qui l'a enthousiasmé par les projets de MEDAMAN. 

Geert Byttebier – Analyste de données médicales

Geert est ingénieur et statisticien médical de formation avec un cœur pour les statistiques et les chiffres. Dans une vie antérieure, Geert a construit un immense réseau en appliquant ses connaissances au sein de diverses sociétés pharmaceutiques telles que Janssen Pharmaceutica. Au sein du monde académique, ce gentleman maîtrisant les chiffres est un invité bienvenu en raison de son approche correcte. Il entretient actuellement des contacts étroits avec des universités et des chercheurs du monde entier pour Medaman et avec ses connaissances professionnelles, il supervise de nombreuses publications, y compris des publications récentes sur l'utilisation des statines et des inhibiteurs de l'ECA/sartans pour la survie des patients Covid. Il est également un invité bienvenu au sein de l'OHDI (Observational Health Data Sciences and Informatics) ou de la version mondiale de l'EHDEN.

Marc Lamont - Agent de développement des affaires

Marc est titulaire d'une maîtrise en sciences médicales et pharmaceutiques et d'une maîtrise supplémentaire en administration des affaires de la North Western University Chicago en collaboration avec la Flanders Business School, Anvers, Belgique. Il a eu une longue carrière dans le commerce mondial dans des postes de direction au sein de sociétés de soins de santé très connues telles que Baxter Healthcare, Boston Scientific et Canon Medical, mais a également développé les activités mondiales de certaines petites entreprises et start-ups comme Eurogentec (génomique et protéomique), Clintec (coentreprise Baxter – Nestlé), Nexell (Stem Cell Therapies) et icometrix (Digital Healthcare AI). Marc était responsable de la création de nombreuses nouvelles activités commerciales dans le monde entier avec ces entreprises, à la fois sous l'égide de grandes entreprises bien connues et de petites start-up et scale-up. Au cours de sa carrière, il a travaillé dans plus de 65 pays à travers le monde, faisant prospérer des entreprises dans des conditions et des différences culturelles très différentes. Il est également l'auteur de plusieurs livres de gestion sur la création de nouvelles entreprises, comme le livre "Growing Start-Up and Scale-Up Activities into a Successful Business". Marc est également mentor à l'IMEC : l'IMEC est un centre de recherche de renommée mondiale en nanoélectronique et technologie numérique. C'est en même temps une organisation flamande qui entretient des liens forts avec les acteurs locaux pour accélérer la transformation numérique. Marc est également mentor chez imec.istart : depuis 2011, imec.istart est l'un des premiers accélérateurs de startups en Europe.